I Got it From My Daddy

Surely I’ve touched on this subject in several posts already and any avid reader knows exactly what I’m talking about but it deserves another nod – buying/acquiring/displaying books is an addiction. I’ve always justified this vise though – could there be a less harmful addiction – money aside anyway?

Admittedly, this addiction was much more enjoyable when I was 16 and had a credit card on my parent’s account. A weekly Chapter’s purchase ranging from $20 to $80 either went unnoticed by my parents or perhaps it was appreciated. Becoming a mature, independent adult though, I’ve had to find other ways to support my habit and lately I’ve turned to stealing. My favorite place? My father’s nightstand.

This place is a literal cornucopia with selections ranging from the most recent Harper’s magazine (conveniently dog-earred if not highlighted) to business lit to American essays to poetry. As I scour the stack of books spilling from the already over-sized nightstand onto the bed, onto the floor and onto the reading chair long since abandoned as a place to sit, I realize that my father’s habit far exceeds mine.  But then again, so do his earnings.

On a recent visit home, the five-finger discount proved especially fruitful. I piled my arms full with titles such as: Sway by Ori and Rom Brafman, The Stone Angel by Margaret Laurence, Essays of E.B. White by E.B. White, The Red Queen: Sex and the Evolution of Human Nature by Matt Ridley and Nicole Krauss’ History of Love.

Quite pleased with my cache, I headed for the door. I was quickly intercepted by none other than my father who quickly took stock, removing the Essays of E.B. White and The Red Queen but not without replacing them with an edition of Money Sense and The English Major by Jim Harrison.

As I climbed into the car, piling my new books into the back seat, Andrew only shook his head in somewhat mock exasperation: “where are we going to put these ones, sweetheart?” No response was necessary though, I just grinned and climbed into the front seat with a couple of new reads in my hot little hands. I guess addiction is hereditary.

4 responses to “I Got it From My Daddy

  1. What did you think about Nikolski? I just finished it. Arg, such a bore for a Canada Reads selection… sure ain’t no “Lullabies”, but you already knew that. Next one on my list is “Little Bee” which is quite the staff fav at Chapters, so I’m hoping it will exceed my expectations. Any others for me, Kate?

    • Millions! I’m reading Dave Eggers The Wild Things right now. It’s been ages since I’ve read the children’s book and I never got around to seeing the movie but it’s such a fun read! It’s so funny reading a novel from the perspective of an 11-year old boy, it’s like diving into Adrian Mole again.

      I just read (it was a gift) The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag. I hated it at first and then tried desperately to hold onto this emotion but you can’t help but sort of fall in love with the protagonist Flavia.

      I really liked Nikolski actually. I suppose I understand what you mean about it being a boring selection but, I dunno, I really liked the mood of the book. And perhaps it was the fact that it was a kind of quiet book that made it feel Canadian. As the Olympics confirmed, we are a quiet people, a gentle, diverse populace and I felt that in the book. Oh dear, I think I am getting nostalgic for it!

  2. Thank you!!! My husband does not understand my love for buying books and having them strewn everywhere in the house. He hides them in a box in the basement when I am not looking. Enraging!

    • Andrew doesn’t either but we’ve agreed to disagree. Each book is like a notch on my bedpost … except that they are notches that I am proud of and want to display… the more the merrier! There was a used book sale in Calgary last weekend so things have multiplied lately..

Leave a comment